News & Events 2017-09-06T13:01:41+00:00

News & Events

September 2017

Residency Interview Dates for the 2018-2019 Intern Class have been announced: November 29th and December 13th. All applicants must apply through the ERAS system.

October 2015

Interview Dates for the 2016-2017 General Surgery Residency Match will be December 2 and December 9, 2015.  Applications must be completed through ERAS.

Congratulations to our Chief Residents on their Fellowship matches:
  •      Ted Gifford – Vascular Surgery at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  •      Ronnie Sullins – Pediatric Surgery at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
  •      Andrew Nguyen – Trauma and Critical Care at University of Maryland Shock Trauma
  •      Brian Nguyen – Bariatric Surgery at Harvard’s Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

June 2015

First Annual Harbor-UCLA Research Day Winners:
1st Prize – Ted Gifford, Junior Chief Resident
2nd Prize – Brian MacLaughlin, Research Resident

Congratulations and farewell to our graduating class!
Bryan Goldner – Surgical Oncology fellowship, City of Hope
Andrew Li – Plastic Surgery fellowship, UCLA
Carrie Luu – Surgical Oncology fellowship, Moffitt Cancer Center
Sam Schwartz – Vascular Surgery fellowship, Massachusetts General
Judy Wang – Minimally Invasive Surgery, Methodist Hospital, Houston

May 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Michael O’Leary who just won the UCLA Excellence in Teaching with Humanism Residents and Fellows Award. This is the second year in a row that a Harbor-UCLA Surgery Resident has won this award.

Jerry Kim took home First Place Resident Prize for Best Paper at the Southern California Vascular Surgery Society Meeting. Great work and congratulations!!

April 2015

Dr. Dennis Kim was nominated for the 2015 UCLA Exceptional Physician Award. Congratulations Dr. Kim!

March 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Isaac Yang, Neurosurgeon, who was recently honored by the American Medical Student Association with its National Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence.

The First Annual Harbor-UCLA Resident Research Day will be held in Parlow Auditorium on June 10, 2015. Abstract deadline: May 11th

January 2015

Congratulations to Jerry Kim, MD and Jessica Keeley, MD who received awards for best papers at the Southern California Chapter of the American College of Surgeons meeting in Santa Barbara.

August 2014

Welcome to our newest faculty member, Yvonne Carter, MD – Thoracic Surgery

July 2014

Welcome to our intern class 2014-2015:
Categorical Interns
Reed Ayabe, MD – UCLA
Emily Dubina, MD – UCLA
Paul Frank, MD – UCLA
Erin Howell, MD – UC Davis
Priti Lalchandani, MD – UCLA
Cynthia Tom, MD – Case Western Reserve

Preliminary Interns
Ellen Chang, MD – Washington University
Brian Cristiano, MD – University of Colorado
Rachelle DuQuette, MD – University of Arizona
David Mina, MD – Meharry Medical College
Eli Johnson, DO – Touro Osteopathic
Dane Lee, MD – University of Hawaii
Michael Lersten, MD – University of Iowa
Shelby Lundahl, MD – Ohio State
Alexa Merz, MD – UCLA
Amir Rahnavard, MD – Chicago Medical School
Sriram Rangarajan, MD – UC San Diego
Michael Tulio, MD – UT, San Antonio

Residency Interview Dates for 2015-2016 Intern Class announced: November 12, 2014 and December 10, 2014

June 2014

Faculty Teaching Award – Angela Neville, MD
Surgery Resident Teaching Award – Ann Falor, MD
Intern of the Year Award – Lara Driggers, MD

June 2014

Congratulations to our graduating class!
Erik Barthel – Pediatric Surgery, Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles
Annie Falor – Surgical Oncology, City of Hope
Wendy Liu – Colon and Rectal Surgery, University of Southern California
Amy Polverini – currently applying for breast surgery fellowship
Anisa Yalom – Hand Surgery, University of Pennsylvania

May 2014

Congratulations to Sam Schwartz, MD on his fellowship match in Vascular Surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital.

April 2014

Our heartfelt congratulations to Anisa Yalom and Andew Li, who both won the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA Excellence in Teaching with Humanism Residents and Fellows Award! We are most proud of you both!

We are excited to announce the opening of our beautiful new operating room suites on April 14. The new Emergency Room will also open April 20.

February 2014

Congrats to Anisa Yalom – accepted to University of Pennsylvania for Hand Fellowship.

At the Pacific Coast Surgical Association annual meeting, only 24 papers from the entire West Coast were chosen for oral podium presentations, and two came from Harbor-UCLA. A congratulations are in order to Drs. Ted Gifford and Huan Yan who eloquently presented their research work.

January 2014

Welcome to our newest faculty members:
Junko Ozao-Choy, MD – Surgical Oncology/Breast From John Wayne Cancer Institute
Jennifer Smith, MD – Trauma and Critical Care From LAC + USC Medical Center

November 2013

New OR/ER building scheduled to open Jan 27, 2014.

Congratulations to the following residents who were selected to present their research at the upcoming Southern California Chapter of the American College of Surgeons meeting in Santa Barbara, January 17-19, 2014.

Erik Barthel, MD
Ted Gifford, MD
Bryan Goldner, MD
Ankur Gupta, MD
Jessica Keeley, MD
Carrie Luu, MD
Andrew Nguyen, MD
Brian Nguyen, MD (2 papers)
Alex Schwed, MD
Ronnie Sullins, MD

October 2013

We are proud to announce that three of our residents had podium presentations at the recent American College of Surgeons national meeting in Washington, DC. Congratulations to Drs. Bryan Goldner, Andrew Li, and Ronnie Sullins.

Congrats to our Chief residents on their fellowship matches for 2014-2015:

Annie Falor, MD – Surgical Oncology, City of Hope
Erik Barthel, MD – Pediatric Surgery, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
Wendy Liu, MD – Colorectal Surgery, USC

We received a 10-year program accreditation and complement increase to 6 categorical residents per year.

September 2013

Residency Interview Dates Announced: December 11, 2013 and January 8, 2014.

August 2013

Welcome to our newest faculty members:

Danielle Hari, MD – GI/Oncology Surgery From: John Wayne Cancer Institute
Tim Ryan, MD – Vascular Surgery From: Cleveland Clinic

June 2013

Faculty Teaching Award – Ravin Kumar, MD
Surgery Resident Teaching Award – Guy Saltmarsh, MD
Intern of the Year Award – Kyle Mock, MD and Mike O’Leary, MD

April 2013

Dr. Tim VanNatta announced as Interim Chief Medical Officer at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

February 2013

Congratulations Sam Schwartz, winner of the Best Resident Paper award at the Pacific Coast Surgical Association meeting

error: Copyright Harbor-UCLA Medical Center | All Rights Reserved